Say it aint so! Rick’s Drive-In Burgers says goodbye!

After serving Pasadenians for over 47 years. Rick’s Drive-In says goodbye.  There has been some speculation as to whether they are leaving due to condos going up on the same property or that there is some legal issues that need to be addressed.   Regardless, Sunday they close the doors for good. Despite the closure, rumor has it that, the doors will reopen a few weeks later under a different name (Same workers, same food, different name). However, I have yet to see any article in the papers or online that supports this notion.

The long lines of patrons and all the happy reviews says that the closure of this historic venue will sadden the masses of fans that have been calling Rick’s  Drive- In their burger of choice.  “Oh my god their fries, their taco and malts,” said Will Rutledge (a patron in line at Rick’s drive –in) , “always kept me coming back to Rick’s.  My co-workers seem to appreciate the burgers more than me, but we always got a group to go to Rick’s because there was always something for everybody on the menu”.  John Grumke another patron in line said,” I am really going to miss Rick’s.  I’ve come here for ..wow I think 20 years now and I think I brought a date or two here as well. I guess I better take a picture. Haha” Well Rick’s, cheers to 47 years and thanks for the memories!

 

Pasadenians don’t fret you still have some of the best burgers in the nation!  Here is the list of Mr. Pasadena’s top 6 burgers in Pasadena (in no particular order).

 

Pie N Burger 913 East California Boulevard

 

Lucky Boy 640 South Arroyo Pkwy

 

IN n OUT   2114 E. Foothill Blvd.

 

Wolfe Burgers 46 North Lake Avenue

 

Tops 1792 East Walnut Street

 

The Counter 140 Shoppers Ln

When you are ready for a burger in Pasadena you can’t go wrong with any of these on the list. Enjoy my friends!


 

4 responses to “Say it aint so! Rick’s Drive-In Burgers says goodbye!

  1. Vicki The Evil Step-mom

    It’s true, they are re-opening on Thursday. The workers bought it from the owners and are going to continue with the same menu. After I had gone there, teary eyed to have my last meat burrito, that’s what they told me. Phew

  2. Besides Consumer Rpts choosing In-N-Out as the best tasting burger a few mths ago, it is also the best-value!.The other burgers are all more xpensive.- in some cases by 3-5 times!

    Smart marketing move: goodbye, oh, and hello!

  3. THANK GOODNESS BOBBY’S PLACE WILL CARRY ON THE RICKS TRADITION!!!!

  4. Hi there very nice website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also…I am happy to find a lot of helpful info right here in the submit, we need develop more techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

